Kim Mulkey, a different perspective

SoonerSpock

Reaction score
BY SCOTT RABALAIS | srabalais@theadvocate.com Jun 25, 2017 - 7:22 pm

Kim Mulkey led Hammond High School to four state titles, played point guard on two national champions at Louisiana Tech, won a gold medal with the U.S. Olympic team in 1984 and has led Baylor to a pair of NCAA championships. These days, though, she’s just a mom in the stands at the College World Series, watching her son Kramer Robertson, play shortstop for LSU. We sat with her in those stands at TD Ameritrade Park on Sunday and talked with her about life, baseball, basketball, and her son’s now-infamous bleached-blond hair:

Q: Everyone else in the world seems to have an opinion, so what do you think about Kramer’s hair?

A: I think it’s extremely ugly. Being a coach, I appreciate the team-bonding and that he wanted to participate. I’m not surprised that he didn’t shave his head or get a Mohawk, because that would have been even uglier. At least he was trying to be a good teammate.

Q: Kramer had a great game Saturday, going 3 for 3 with a walk after starting the CWS 1 for 18. What advice did you have for him, if any?

A: He was hitting the ball hard. That’s baseball. You keep hitting it hard, you’re going to find those holes. Don’t lose your confidence. Keep doing what you do in the field and be a good leader; be happy that your team is winning and it’ll come around. It did yesterday. It’s a sport of failure, but your team’s winning. You’re playing for the national championship, and you’re a big part of this team whether you’re going 1 for 18 or 15 for 18. Just keep doing what you’ve been taught to do.

Q: Have you heard of the Kim Mulkey drinking game every time they show you on TV in the stands?