Can I Use the soapbox?

TishSooner

Reaction score
I'm a lurker and not a poster, but may I give my perspective of OU's basketball. I fail to post, not because I'm a novice. I coached high school basketball for 30 years, and I have a state coaches hall of fame card in my wallet. I don't state this to brag, but since I have so few post, maybe it will cause two or three posters to ease up on the criticism.

I have seen these situations many times. Often, not from he stands, but, from the bench. one thing you cannot teach is experience. Right now these players are trying to do a good job and they are "thinking", and a thinking player is going to get beat at either offence or defense. The more experience they get the less thinking they will do and will begin to start reacting. To a player with a high level of talent, experience will cause less thinking and more reacting, and with that comes a higher degree of performance. And that, my friends, is where we are headed. Maybe not as fast as some of us want, but we will get there.

Many of our posters need to set back and inventory what is in store for OU basketball fans in the future. For instance, during the first game we sawTiny's one hand slam of an alley oop. Once he settles in there will be more and more highlight plays from him. I can only imagine what TMG will come up with during the next four years to feed the post, score, etc. And Pledge's 3 pointers. I really expect to see him break the school record.

We have a ride in front of us that only a few fans witness. I'm going to enjoy this ride. I didn't like getting beat by VCU. To be honest, our team's play was depressing, but I know these things are going to happen, especially to an inexperienced team. I'll withstand the poor times and cheer like heck during the good. All in all, I'M expecting one of the best rides in OU history.

Thanks for letting me use the soapbox for a few minutes. But I will be out there lurking behind each post you guys and gals make.