Edmond Sante Fe junior prospect Josh Richardson

Sooner23

Reaction score
He was talked about in the "Oklahoma 6A High School Basketball" post I made last week, but thought Richardson deserved his own thread.

Some talent gurus think he could be a Top 100 kid and he has already apparently been offered by Tulsa and Baylor, or is at least receiving heavy attention from them.

I went and watched him play last Friday and here are some impressions I posted in that thread....

I was able to break away and check out Richardson tonight.

I'm not an expert college scout and I'm probably reaching here, but he projects as a Josh Howard type player too me. Not saying he's going to be Josh Howard, but he's that type of player from what I remember of Howard at Wake Forest.

He's about 6-5, very long, tremendous run and jump athlete and has great passing and ball skills. His jump shot looked fairly fluid and if I remember correctly hit a couple of three's in the game I watched. Very active and slashy in the lane, good at flying in for putbacks.

But what really impressed me was his defense. Sante Fe runs what looks like a 2-1-2 3/4 press and he was the one in the middle and was all over the court coming up with steals sideline to sideline. In one-on-one, he was worked very hard to move his feet and his length also really makes him that much of a tougher defender. Again, he has long arms and is very athletic.

Competition level wasn't the greatest when I watched him, but he's a guy we should definitely follow hard in AAU ball this summer. Not a McDonald's All-American, but looks like a top 100 kid to me though with loads of potential.

Also found an update on him from Rivals....