What was the double foul...

Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
678
Reaction score
21
during the Oral Roberts game about? That call really puzzled me during the game and I didn't see a replay in the LNC.
 
One official called a block and the other had a charge. When they couldn't agree on the call during an officials timout, they charged both players with a foul.

Initially, there was a conference at the scorer's table like the officials planned to review the play on the monitor. However, a block/charge is a judgement call. By rule, it is not reviewable.

Maybe the officials realized that and simply decided to go with a compromise by assessing each player with a foul. It was unusual, to be sure, and a bit of a copout to be tell you the truth. But under the circumstances, it was probably the best option.
 
It was ridiculous because it's an impossible call. Only one can occur. They just ignored the rules of basketball because they don't understand logic.
 
Imo which isn't worth that much, their discussion should have been about which ref had the best view of the defender in a block charge situation. The ref out front who was screened by the ball handler, should have yielded to the ref under the basket.
 
Imo which isn't worth that much, their discussion should have been about which ref had the best view of the defender in a block charge situation. The ref out front who was screened by the ball handler, should have yielded to the ref under the basket.

Exactly! That's what I meant when I said the double foul was a copout from what good officials (and those were good officials) usually do when a call goes both ways. I'm fine with the result of their discussion. But the outcome was definitely a departure from the norm.
 
Oddly, I thought they made the right call. There was blocking foul, but Osby also threw an elbow on the play. So, I thought you need to call both the blocking foul and the elbow.
 
It was ridiculous because it's an impossible call. Only one can occur. They just ignored the rules of basketball because they don't understand logic.

You obviously don't know the rule...that is the proper method to administer the fouls if two officials have differing calls that are made simultaneously. It's called a "blarge".
 
Exactly! That's what I meant when I said the double foul was a copout from what good officials (and those were good officials) usually do when a call goes both ways. I'm fine with the result of their discussion. But the outcome was definitely a departure from the norm.

If both officials have differing instantaneous fouls you book both. It doesn't happen very often because officials are drilled on not making the call simultaneously and yielding to the other.
 
You obviously don't know the rule...that is the proper method to administer the fouls if two officials have differing calls that are made simultaneously. It's called a "blarge".

True. But in the majority of cases were there are conflicting calls, the outside official will yield to the underneath official who was closer to the play. As I said in an earlier post, I'm fine with a double foul in that instance. It's the right thing to do when two officials can't agree on what they saw.

I thought it was interesting that the officials started toward the scorer's table as if they planned to review the play on the monitor. I'm guessing someone realized the call wasn't reviewable at that point and decided to go with a foul on both players. That got it right in the end, as most officials do.

EDIT: LOL! Saw your post after I had already added my two cents. Obviously, we're on the same page...again.
 
True. But in the majority of cases were there are conflicting calls, the outside official will yield to the underneath official who was closer to the play. As I said in an earlier post, I'm fine with a double foul in that instance. It's the right thing to do when two officials can't agree on what they saw.

Agreed, but if both signal the block or charge right away, you technically aren't supposed to yield at that point.
 
Agreed, but if both signal the block or charge right away, you technically aren't supposed to yield at that point.

I couldn't see the outside official's signal. The guy underneath definitely called a block. To be honest, it could have gone either way, as a lot of block/charge calls often do. It's the hardest call for an official to make.

The average fan doesn't realize that there is not enough time to think about what you saw before you blow the whistle. You have to make a split-second decision and go with what you called. Football officials have time to think about what they saw after reaching for their flag, and then simply scratch their rear end and pretend nothing happened if they change their mind.
 
I'd actually like to see more "blarges". If the offensive player is out of control and initiates the contact, I don't think he should be bailed out by the defender failing to be in the proper the guarding position. I would like to see the rule rewritten with more opportunity for double fouls.
 
You obviously don't know the rule...that is the proper method to administer the fouls if two officials have differing calls that are made simultaneously. It's called a "blarge".

No. It is impossible for an offensive player to commit a charge at the same time the defender gets a block. It is an impossibility. Also, the official under the basket who has the better view should have the precedent.
 
Back
Top