Some way-too-early practice observations

OUHoops

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Let me preface this by saying:

I love the game, but I'm no expert. I'm wrong on predictions/comparisons more than I'm right. Nevertheless, I've watched about three hours of practice (online) the last two days and have some observations.

Sam and garyeb have watched a lot more than I have and probably have better informed opinions at this point, so go easy on me guys. :)

Oh yeah, I'm a glass half-empty kind of guy so take that into account when reading. Here we go.

---

* First off, if you can you really need to take the time to watch a practice online. I'd watch every minute of every one if I could. Can't stop giving props to OU for making that happen. Incredible.

* Cam Clark looks to be an improved player. He's ballhawking more on the perimeter on defense and his jumpshot no longer has that knuckleball spin at times. He also looks to have matured more physically. Looks like a full grown man now.

* The first day I watched, Grooms wasn't consistent with his open jumper or his runners in the lane. The second day he didn't attempt any but had a good day driving to the rim and scoring. I'm really afraid his jumper is going to be what it has been. We'll see. Hope I'm wrong.

* Amath M'Baye is obviously very skilled and athletic, but he hasn't blown me away as the potential "one and done" player some have hinted at him being. He definitely shoots it well, has some nice low-post moves and is very athletic off the dribble too. When they have him inside, he's going get some nice tomahawks taking bigger guys off the dribble. He's also going to be very effective blocking shots helping out when he's the weakside defender down low. Have seen him flying across the lane to block shots at least five times in the two days I've watched. He has thrown up a couple of left-handed jump hooks that haven't been close. Good that he's working on it though.