Fran Fraschilla on Kansas and Texas after watching them practice

Sooner23

Reaction score
On Texas.........

I am a student of the game of basketball. Each season, I've got to begin my studies all over again. I've already had the chance to see Texas, Kentucky, Seton Hall and Kansas, and while it's still very, very early, here are a few things I've learned:

This is Rick Barnes' deepest team -- and, possibly, his best.

This is the deepest and most athletic team Barnes has had at Texas. In fact, he has more possible combinations to play than a Rubik's Cube. And while every coach would salivate over this much talent, there are pitfalls. Barnes will have to figure out how to keep so many good players happy, what his best lineups will be and how to create a style of play that will incorporate this team's strength in numbers.

A year ago, the Longhorns were scrambling for perimeter help. Now, with high school All-Americans Avery Bradley and Jordan Hamilton, Florida transfer Jai Lucas and former Texas high school star J'Covan Brown on board, there is an embarrassment of riches in Austin.

While the attention has rightly shined most on Bradley, an outstanding defender and midrange scorer, the best NBA prospect on the roster might be the 6-foot-7 Hamilton, who is a Paul Pierce clone. Hamilton can shoot from long distance and has the slashing ability to get into the lane at will. Once he shakes off the rust of missing his last high school season after being denied a fifth year of eligibility, he could be Barnes' go-to scorer.

Brown, a high school scorer, has all the tools to be a quality point guard in the Big 12, and Barnes will nurture him early. It wouldn't surprise me if by conference play the job is his.

Lucas, a combo guard in a point guard's body, shot the lights on the day I watched practice. He's a gym rat in the same mold of his brother, John, and his father.